List Of All Parastatals In Kenya and Their Ministries 2023

Government Parastatals in Kenya

What is a Parastatal in Kenya?.

In a nutshell, this name is used to describe a company or organization which is owned by a country’s government, in this case Kenyan government and often has some political power.

Parastatals in Kenya give job opportunities to millions of Kenyans making them very important companies for the country’s economy.

How many parastatals are in Kenya today?

As of today, there are 263 Parastatals in Kenya and they are all listed below in category of the ministry they fall under in the government.

What is the difference between state corporation and parastatal?

The difference between State corporation and parastatal is only the names but they are literally the same thing, no difference at all.

In Kenya, Parastatals also known as state corporations, these government organisations are usually classified into three categories which fall under different ministries.

They include;

  • Class A parastatals
  • Class B parastatals
  • Class C parastatals

It is important to note that people who work in Class C Parastatals in Kenya make the least amount of monthly salary compared to the other first class A & B.

With that being said, below is the full updated list of all the Parastatals in Kenya and their respective ministries.

All Parastatals In Kenya (State Corporations):

Ministry of Information, Communication and Technology:

Communications Authority of Kenya

Kenya Broadcasting Corporation

Information and Communications Technology Authority

Kenya Institute of Mass Communication

Kenya Year Book Editorial Board

Konza Technopolis Authority

Postal Corporation of Kenya

Ministry of Sports and Heritage:

Kenya National Library Service

National Museums of Kenya

National Youth Council

Sports Kenya

Kenya Academy of Sports

Also Read:  13+ Famous Kenyans Who Lost To Cancer (2023 Update)

Kenya Film Classification Board

Kenya Film Commission

Ministry of Energy:

Kenya Nuclear Electricity Board

Kenya Pipeline Company (KPC)

Kenya Power and Lighting Company Limited (KPLC)

National Oil Corporation of Kenya (NOCK)

Energy Regulatory Commission (ERC)

Geothermal Development Company (GDC)

Kenya Electricity Generating Company (KENGEN)

Kenya Electricity Transmission Company (KETRACO)

Rural Electrification Authority (REA)

Ministry of Lands:

National Construction Authority

National Housing Corporation

Ministry of Agriculture and Irrigation:

Agricultural Development Corporation

Agricultural, Fisheries and Food Authority

Agro-Chemical and Food Company

Bukura Agricultural College

Coffee Development Fund

Commodities Fund

Kenya Animal Genetics Resource Centre

Kenya Dairy Board

Kenya Marine and Fisheries Research Institute

Kenya Meat Commission

Kenya Agricultural and Livestock Research Organization

Kenya Sugar Board

Kenya Plant Health Inspectorate Services

Kenya Seed Company Limited

Kenya Tsetse and Trypanosomiasis Eradication Council

Kenya Veterinary Vaccine Production Institute

Miwani Sugar Company Ltd

Chemelil Sugar Company Ltd

Nzoia Sugar Company Ltd

Pest Control Products Board

South Nyanza Sugar Company Limited (SONY)

Mohoroni Sugar Company Ltd

National Biosafety Authority

National Cereals and Produce Board

National Irrigation Board

Nyayo Tea Zones Development Corporation

Ministry of Labour and Social Protection:

National Social Security Fund

National Social Security Assistance Authority

National Council for Persons with Disabilities

National Industrial Training Authority

Ministry of Industrialisation and Enterprise Development:

Anti-Counterfeit Agency

East African Portland Cement Company Limited

Export Processing Zones Authority (EPZA)

Kenya National Accreditation Service

New Kenya Co-operative Creameries

Numerical Machining Complex

Sacco Societies Regulatory Authority

Kenya Bureau of Standards (KEBS)

Kenya Industrial Estates Ltd.

Kenya Industrial Property Institute

Kenya Industrial Research and Development Institute

Also Read:  Top 5 Best Motorcycle (Boda Boda) Tracking Companies In Kenya

Kenya Investment Authority

Kenya Leather Development Council

Small and Micro Enterprises Authority

Ministry of Tourism and Wildlife:

Kenyatta International Conference Centre

Kenya Utalii College

Kenya Safari Lodges and Hotels

Tourism Fund

Brand Kenya

Catering and Tourism Development Levy Trustee

Bomas of Kenya

Kenya Tourism Board

Tourism Regulatory Authority

Kenya Tourist Development Corporation

Ministry of Health:

Kenya Medical Laboratory Technician and Technologists Board

Kenya Medical Research Institute (KEMRI)

Kenya Medical Supplies Authority (KEMSA)

Kenya Medical Training College

Kenyatta National Hospital

Moi Teaching and Referral Hospital

National Hospital Insurance Fund (NHIF)

National AIDS Control Council

National Quality Control Laboratories

Kenyatta University Teaching, Referral and Research Hospital

Ministry of National Treasury:

Kenya Accountants and Secretaries National Examinations Board (KASNEB)

Privatisation Commission

Kenya Investment Authority

Insurance Regulatory Authority

Kenya Reinsurance Corporation

Kenya Revenue Authority (KRA)

Kenya Trade Network Agency

Competition Authority of Kenya

Public Procurement Oversight Authority

Capital Market Authority (CMA)

Deposit Protection Fund

National Bank of Kenya

Kenya Post Office Savings Bank

Consolidated Bank of Kenya

Retirements Benefit Authority

Ministry of Transport and Infrastructure Development:

Constituency Development Fund Board

National Drought Management Authority

National Coordinating Agency for Population and Development

South-South Centre

Youth Enterprise Development Fund Board (YEDFB)

Kenya Institute of Public Policy Research and Analysis

Kenya National Bureau of Statistics

Kenya School of Government

The Office of the Attorney General:

Council of Legal Education

Kenya Copyright Board

Kenya Law Reform Commission

National Crime Research Centre

Kenya School of Law

Nairobi Centre for International Arbitration

National Council for Law Reporting

Ministry of Education, Science, and Technology:

Chuka University

Also Read:  Top 15 Richest Pastors In Kenya and Their Net Worth 2023

Commission for University Education

Co-operative University College

Dedan Kimathi University​​

Kenya Literature Bureau

Multi-Media University of Kenya

Kenya National Commission for UNESCO

Kenya National Examinations Council

Kenya Universities and Colleges Central Placement Services

Kenyatta University

Maasai Mara University

Machakos University​​

Maseno University

Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology

Meru University of Science and Technology

Kibabii University​​

Kirinyaga University​​

Kisii University

Laikipia University​​

Moi University

Moringa University College

National Commission for Science, Technology, and Innovation

Pwani University

Egerton University

Embu University​​

Garissa University​​

Higher Education Loans Board

Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University of Science and Technology

Jomo Kenyatta Foundation

Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology

Karatina University​​

Kenya Institute of Curriculum Development

Rongo University​​

School Equipment Production Unit

South Eastern Kenya University- SEKU

Technical University of Mombasa

The Technical University of Kenya

University of Eldoret

University of Kabianga

University of Nairobi

Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel

You may also like...