All Cabinet Secretaries In Kenya, Their Salaries, Benefits and Roles 2023

CS salary, allowance and roles

The Cabinet of the Republic of Kenya is made up of the President, Deputy President, Attorney General and Cabinet Secretaries.

The 2010 Constitution of Kenya allows a maximum of 22 ministries under Article 152 and sets the minimum number to 14.

A Cabinet Secretary is not a Member of the Kenyan Parliament and has to be vetted by a parliamentary committee before their appointment.

Kenyan Cabinet Secretary’s Salary and Allowances:

A gazette notice by the Salaries and Remuneration Commission (SRC) indicates that a Cabinet Secretary is entitled to a cumulative salary of KSh 924,000.

The salary includes a basic salary of KSh 554,400, a house allowance of KSh 200,000, and a market adjustment of Ksh 169,600.

Other benefits include;

Official state car, maximum engine capacities of 3,000cc.

Medical benefits – annual medical cover that will cater for one spouse and a maximum of four children under the age of 25.

Inpatient – KSh 10 million.

Outpatient – Ksh 300,000.

Maternity KSh 150,000.

Dental KSh – 75,000.

Optical -Ksh 75,000.

Car loan and mortgage – KSh 10 million car loan and a KSh 40 million mortgage.

Airtime allowance – monthly airtime allowance of up to KSh 20,000.

Travel allowance – domestic and international travel allowances that will be determined by the SRC.

Security – The inspector general of police is tasked with ensuring the Cabinet members are all protected.

Full List Of Cabinet Secretaries In Kenya:

Prime Cabinet Secretary – Musalia Mudavadi.

East African Community (EAC) and Regional Development Ministry- Rebecca Miano

Roads, Transport and Public Works Ministry – Kipchumba Murkomen.

Environment and Forestry Ministry- Roselinda Soipan Tuya.

Also Read:  Top 10 Best Kenyan Patriotic Songs (2023 Update)

Lands Ministry – Zachary Mwangi.

Tourism and Wildlife Ministry- Peninah Malonza.

Agriculture and Livestock Development Ministry- Franklin Mithika Linturi.

Ministry of Health – Susan Wafula.

Information and Communication (ICT) Ministry – Eliud Owalo.

Ministry of Education – Ezekiel Machogu.

Petroleum and Energy Ministry – Davis Chirchir.

Sports, Youth Affairs and Arts Ministry- Ababu Namwamba.

Cooperatives and SMEs – Simon Chelugui.

Mining, Blue Economy and Maritime Affairs – Salim Mvurya.

Foreign Affairs – Alfred Mutua.

Ministry of Labour and Social Protection – Florence Bore.

National Treasury – Njuguna Ndung’u.

Defence – Aden Duale.

Trade – Moses Kuria.

Water, Sanitation & Irrigation – Alice Wahome.

Interior and National Coordination of Government – Kithure Kindiki.

Public Service and Gender – Aisha Jumwa.

Other Cabinet-level portfolio appointments were as follows:

Advisor on Women Rights Agency- Harriet Chigai.

National Security Advisor – Monica Juma.

Secretary to the Cabinet – Mercy Wanjau.

Attorney General – Justin Muturi

Prime Cabinet Secretary Musali Mudavadi Roles:

In his new role as Prime Cabinet Secretary, one-time Finance Minister (1993-1997) Musalia Mudavadi has been assigned the following roles:-

  • Assist the President and the Deputy President in the coordination and supervision of Government Ministries and State Departments; 
  • In liaison with the Ministry responsible for Interior and National Administration, oversee the implementation of National Government policies, programs and projects; 
  • Chair and Coordinate National Government legislative agenda across all ministries and state departments in consultation with and for transmission to the Party/Coalition Leaders in Parliament; 
  • Facilitate inter-ministerial coordination of crossfunctional initiatives and programmes; 
  • Coordinate and supervise the technical monitoring and evaluation of Government policies, programs and projects across Ministries; and 
  • Perform any other function as may be assigned by the President
Also Read:  Helicopter Owners In Kenya: List Of People Who Own Helicopters and Their Details 2023
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel

You may also like...